Buddy Holly Hall receives 2022 International Architecture Award

For more information, please contact:
Andrea Chin, Communications Director
Email: achin@dsai.ca

August 24, 2022

Chicago - The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design and The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies have announced that the Buddy Holly Hall of Performing Arts and Sciences is a 2022 winner of the prestigious International Architecture Awards, in the Museums and Cultural Buildings category.

This year, a record number of submissions were received from the most important international firms. Recognizing the significant and inspirational building and urban planning projects from around the world, the 2022 winners include new high rises and skyscrapers, airports, bridges, civic and community centres, exposition pavilions, corporate offices, schools and universities, museums and libraries, government and healthcare facilities, hotels, private homes and multi-family housing, public spaces, religious buildings, and significant new restorations and adaptive reuse projects.

“This year’s winning projects,” states Christian Narkiewicz-Laine, President/CEO of The Chicago Athenaeum, “show remarkable sensitivity to their surroundings and local cultures, inclusive design, and sustainable solutions. Sustainability, restoration and renovation, and eco-friendly design were paramount to this year’s selection. It is indeed a great moment when a recognition as important as this helps to bring attention to the remote corners of our incredibly connected but unknowing world, often projects that are born out of scarce resources, and projects for the care of people and communities destined to live in the fragile environment of a climate in flux. Here we have the opportunity to discover the world’s best new buildings and to celebrate the value of architecture to communities worldwide,” continues Narkiewicz-Laine.

An international jury composed of distinguished designers including Alberto Alessi (Alessi S.p.A.); Fluvio Manzoni (Senior VP of Ferrari Design, Ferrari S.p.A.); Mauro Porcini (Chief Design Officer, PepsiCo., Inc.); and Damian Mycroft (Design Director, Coca-Cola Company), selected over 150 submissions from a shortlist of more than 650 projects across 48 countries, recognizing the most remarkable and inspirational buildings of the year, setting a global standard for architectural achievement worldwide.

Read the full press release here.