Havergal College Junior School

Diamond Schmitt’s master plan envisions an expanded and sustainable campus for Havergal College, a leading independent day and boarding school in Toronto for girls from Junior Kindergarten to Grade 12. The extent of the campus grounds, the unique topography of the ravine and woodland that traverse the site, the historic and contemporary architecture, and the placement of all within a diverse highly urban context are unique to Havergal. The master plan builds upon these features to further the site-specific characteristics of the school as an environment for enriched learning, inquiry, and teaching excellence.

The final master plan has been implemented through two phased projects: a two-storey expansion to the Junior School and a three-story expansion and renovation of the Upper School.

Alternations and expansion of the Junior School create a series of shared and age-specific spaces for Junior Kindergarten to Grade 6 students. The new addition is designed to blend seamlessly with the existing building through the choices of stone and brick masonry cladding. The new transparent front entrance is marked by an extended copper and wood clad canopy, providing a sheltered area for student drop-off and pick-up and a welcoming point of arrival for visitors to the school.

New spaces include a suite of teaching spaces for junior and senior kindergarten, grade 6, a shared dining room, expanded music and STEM programs, and multi-purpose spaces.

The Havergal values of fostering inquiry, curiosity, and engaging with the world and each other have been integrated into the design both spatially and experientially. New spaces foster the strong sense of community within the school and create an enhanced connection to the natural beauty of the surrounding site.

Client Havergal College
Completion 2021
Sustainability Toronto Green Standard Tier 4 Target, LEED Gold Certified

Photography Tom Arban

Awards See all project awards
2021 Ontario Wood WORKS! Institutional Award 
Team See full project team
Derek Bonnett
Sydney Browne
Michelle Chan
Perry Edwards
Dennis Giobbe
Jim Graves
Stephanie Huss
Aleksandra Janus
Sarah Low
Eric Lucassen
Giuseppe Mandarino
Donald Schmitt
Nazig Seropian
Sybil Wa